Current Edition

current edition

Wyoming People

Wyoming High School Finals Rodeo sees fierce competition, sends top spots to Nationals

Douglas – The Wyoming High School Finals Rodeo (WHSFR) gave the audience a show in Douglas on June 5-8, as students vied for the top spots and their chance to compete in the National High School Finals Rodeo (NHSFR) in Rock Springs July 14-20. 

Despite the tough competition, front-runners emerged in the event and will represent Wyoming at NHSFR. The top four contestants in each category will move on to the national event.

Students qualifying for NHSFR are listed below. For a complete list of standings, visit

Pole bending

1.Chloe Ashenhurst – Wheatland 

2.Teal Stoll – Pavillion

3.Breanna Reimler – Buffalo

4.Abi Deveraux – Newcastle

Goat tying

1.Ashten Marchant – Newcastle

2.Josee Vogel – Pavillion

3.Jamie Thompson – Whitney, Neb.

4.Cashlee Cunningham – Banner

Team roping

1.Garrett Grieve – Baggs, Coley Nichols – Kinnear 

2.Weston Mann – Sheridan, Cameron Irwin – Buffalo 

3.Trace Steele – Sundance, Jhett Hadley – Wheatland 

4.Justene Hirsig – Cheyenne, Denten Shaw – Lusk 

Breakaway roping

1.Deena Norell – Meeker, Colo.

2.Justene Hirsig – Cheyenne

3.Casey Rae Reimler – Rozet

4.Abbea Faris – Laramie

Barrel racing

1.Sierra Spratt – Lysite

2.Breanna Reimler – Buffalo

3./4.Madison Wilkerson – Jackson

3./4.Teal Stoll – Pavillion 

Bareback bronc riding

1.Justin Kissak – Gillette

2.Jeffery Zdziarski – Sheridan

3.Hunter Carlson – Douglas

4.Chance Ames – Big Piney

Saddle bronc riding

1.Brody Cress – Hillsdale

2.Blaze Cress – Hillsdale

3.JW Meiers – Mills

4.Austin Anderson – Powder River

Steer wrestling

1.Cutter DeHart – Laramie

2.Teigen Finnerty – Wheatland

3.Casey Seller – Buffalo

4.Kane Butcher – Jelm

Tie-down calf roping

1.Cameron Irwin – Buffalo

2.Logan Milligan – Torrington

3.Garret Grieve – Baggs

4.Casey Sellers – Buffalo

Bull riding

1.Bryce Burnell – Arvada

2.Scott Carlson – Evanston

3.Mike Schulz – Cheyenne

4.Ty Bertrand – Gillette

Boys cutting

1.Trase Johnson – Gilette

2.Colby Thurston – Lance Creek

3.Dalton Garrett – Casper

4.Jayden Johnson – Casper

Girls cutting

1.Faith Carson – Arvada

2.Lexi Hamm – Rozet

3.Jasmine Gould – Meeteetse

4.Cheyenne Foot – Meeteetse

The top prizes for All-Around cowboy and cowgirl were also given. Breanna Reimler of Rozet took the Wyoming State Finals Girls All-Around position, with Sierra Spratt of Lysite coming in at runner up. The Girls Year End All-Around also went to Reimler.

For the boys, Wyoming’s State Finals Boys All-Around went to Cameron Irwin of Buffalo. Runner up went to Justin Kissack of Gillette, and the Boys Year End All-Around was Casey Sellars of Buffalo.

Spratt was selected as rookie girl, and rookie boy went to Chance Ames of Big Piney. 

Meghan Proctor of Lusk won the queen competition.

Kelsey Tramp is assistant editor of the Wyoming Livestock Roundup and can be reached at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.